The Path Less Travelled

Finding Flow: Unlocking the State of No-Mind

In a world where the mind often dominates our existence, finding moments of true presence can feel like a rare gift. The state of no-mind, where time ceases to exist and mental chatter is silenced, offers a profound sense of freedom and connection. This state, often referred to as the flow state, is not merely an escape from reality but a doorway to a deeper, more meaningful way of living. While the mind is a beautiful instrument, it is not the only lens through which we can experience life. There are myriad practices and disciplines that serve as portals to these higher states of consciousness, where we can transcend the limitations of our mental constructs and connect with a deeper reality.

Living our entire lives in the mind isn't healthy. The ego mind, while a valuable tool, can be a constrained and limited way of experiencing the world. There are other realities, other dimensions, and states of being available to us in this life. Numerous practices and disciplines serve as gateways to deeper states of consciousness, offering us a presence that transcends the mind's limitations.

Meditation is one such discipline that can facilitate access to these higher states. I have had many transformative experiences on my mat, finding it a powerful way to reach a state of no-mind. However, meditation is not for everyone. It requires time, practice, and discipline to see results and understand its true power. In our fast-paced society, time is a luxury, and many may find it challenging to "waste" on meditation.

Fortunately, meditation is just one of many ways to tap into true presence. There are numerous active methods to achieve this state. As a former professional tennis player, tennis was my primary activity that allowed me to experience presence. In the middle of a point, the mind shuts off, and other forms of intelligence are activated. The thinking process becomes more intuitive, less intellectual, and more instinctual and perceptive. It's a unique experience where the intellect is momentarily suspended, and the flow state takes over.

When I stopped playing professionally, I entered an exploration phase. I traveled, experienced new ways of living, and discovered activities that brought me closer to the sensation of pure presence and flow. During these years, I found many disciplines that helped me develop a profound relationship with the state of no-mind. Padel, photography, surfing, writing, hiking, yoga, and meditation have all allowed me to experience this state.

I quickly realized that I didn't want to be limited to only one activity that brings me to this place, especially since many of these activities depend on external factors. I wanted a variety of practices that I could engage in regardless of my day-to-day circumstances. These practices liberate me from the constraints of time, worries, preoccupations, and the constant reminiscing of the past and projecting into the future.

Having a strong foundation in these disciplines has enabled me to live a more balanced life. A life where I am not a slave to my mind but a friend to it. I lived for many years as a slave to my mind, and through this process, I can proudly say that I have befriended it.

I wish to convey what it feels like to ride a wave, to be completely immersed in photography, to be in the flow of writing as I am now, or to simply touch presence by sitting down and focusing on the breath. Certain experiences are beyond explanation, and language often falls short of describing these states of being. If you have experienced them, you know what I am talking about. If you haven't, I genuinely hope you find the motivation, hunger, and courage to explore those activities that make you click—those activities that allow you to connect with the beautiful reality beyond the mind's limitations.

Much love,

Matias